Rosemary Peel's e-books
 
Until I joined Twitter I was not aware of how many organisations and individuals there were worldwide interested in Dyslexia. To me it was just something I suffered from as a child and which can on occasion still bother me. I began to take a closer look at the disability and discovered some interesting facts; like 50% of dyslexics are also dyspraxic and many have O.C.D. I never realised before that some of my early miseries could also be put down to dyspraxia. I already knew that I showed some symptons of O.C.D., not the  life disturbing kind; more irritating ones as far as those around me are concerned. Like having to straighten pictures and photographs (even those in public places) when I notice them - I drive my husband mad with this one. Like sorting things into specific colours and numbers all the time.

I was an only child born to older parents and was thought of as some kind of child prodigy upto the age of four when dyslexia reared its head. I had to wait another forty years before it was officially confirmed. School days were a humiliating Hell. It didn't help that I was born into an academic family where a university degree was not just expected but taken as the norm. What a let down I must have been to my doting parents. It didn't help that they took great pains to hide 'my disgrace' from family and friends, making all sorts of excuses for my lack of achievements.

How I overcame the problem eventually to become not only a published author, but also (I hope) a well adjusted wife, mother and grandmother is the essence of my present endeavour. Working on it has brought back some painful memories but also reinforced my sense of personal achievement.  



Leave a Reply.


Rosemary Peel's e-books